
State Laws Chart I: Liability Reforms 
 
 

State Damage Caps Joint Liability Reform Collateral Source Reform Attorney Fees Limited Periodic Payments Permitted 

Alabama None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes  No Yes for awards of future 
damages in excess of $150,000. 

Alaska $400,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages, or $8000 multiplied 
by the injured party’s life 
expectancy, whichever is 
greater.  For severe medical 
impairment/ disfigurement, 
limits are the greater of $1 
million or life expectancy 
multiplied by $25,000. 

Yes.  Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence.   

Yes, after the fact-finder has 
rendered an award, and not 
including evidence of 
benefits received from a 
federal program that must 
subrogate, or death benefits 
paid under a life insurance 
policy. 

No 
 
 

Yes.  

Arizona None - Constitution prohibits 
limiting recoverable damages 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence, except where 
co-defendants act in 
concert or a person is an 
agent or servant of a party. 

Yes, discretionary.  
Defendant may submit 
evidence of collateral sources 
of payment and claimant may 
submit evidence of amount 
paid to secure benefits. 

No, but at  the request 
of any party the court 
shall review the 
reasonableness of each 
party’s attorney’s fees.  

Yes. Any party may elect, and 
judge must order. Found 
unconstitutional Smith v. 
Myers, 191 Ariz. 11, 887 P.2d 
541 (1994) 

Arkansas None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

No No Yes, discretionary for future 
damages in excess of $100,000 

California $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages 

Yes. Defendants are 
proportionately liable for 
non-economic damages.  
However, they are jointly 
and severally liable for 
economic damages. 

Yes. Defendant may 
introduce evidence of 
collateral sources of 
payment, claimant may 
introduce evidence of amount 
paid to secure benefits.  

Yes, limited to 40% of 
the first $50,000; 33 
1/3% of the next 
$50,000; 25% of the 
next $500,000; and 
15% of any amount 
exceeding $600,000. 

Yes.  Any party may elect in 
cases where damages exceed 
$50,000. 
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Colorado $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages.  Courts may increase 
the non-economic damages to 
$500,000 for future medical 
expenses and future earnings 
upon clear justification for 
doing so.  $1,000,000 cap on 
total damages. Separate 
$250,000 limit on derivative 
noneconomic damages 
(nonpecuniary harm to person 
other than person suffering 
from direct injury or loss).  
Caps on damages are adjusted 
annually for inflation since 
1998. 

Yes.  Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence unless persons 
have consciously conspired 
and deliberately pursued a 
common plan or design to 
commit a tortious act. 

Yes, benefits from collateral 
sources must be disclosed 
and used to reduce 
recoverable economic 
damages, minus any amount 
paid by the claimant to secure 
the benefit.   

No Yes. Mandatory for awards of 
future damages greater than 
$150,000.  Discretionary for 
damage awards $150,000 or 
less.  

Connecticut   None Yes. Defendants are
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence.  However, if 
within one year after the 
final judgment the court 
determines that all or part of 
a defendant’s proportionate 
share is uncollectible, it 
shall reallocate the 
uncollectible noneconomic 
damages among other 
defendants according to 
their percentages of 
negligence. The court may 
not reallocate to any such 
defendant an amount greater 
than that defendant’s 
percentage of negligence 
multiplied by such 
uncollectible amount.  

Yes, benefits from collateral 
sources must be disclosed 
and used to reduce 
recoverable economic 
damages, minus any amount 
paid by the claimant to secure 
the benefit.   

Yes, limited to 33 1/3% 
of the first $300,000; 
25% of the next 
$300,000, 20% of the 
next $300,000, 15% of 
the next $300,000, and 
10% of amounts 
exceeding $1.2 million. 

For damages exceeding 
$200,000, the court shall give 
the parties 60 days to negotiate 
an agreement on method of 
payment, either in lump sum, 
periodic payments, or a 
combination thereof. If they 
cannot agree, the judge must 
order payment in a lump sum. 
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Delaware None No. Each defendant is 

jointly and severally liable. 
Yes, the defendant may offer 
evidence of certain public 
collateral sources. These 
sources may not include life 
insurance or private collateral 
sources. 

Yes, fees are limited to 
35% of the first 
$100,000, 25% of the 
next $100,000, and 
10% of any remaining 
award. 

Yes, courts may order periodic 
payment. 

D.C. None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

No No Yes, but courts are not required 
to award payments periodically. 

Florida None, if neither party requests 
arbitration or the defendant 
refuses to arbitrate.  If the 
plaintiff refuses, economic and 
noneconomic damages are  
capped at $350,000.  If the 
parties arbitrate, noneconomic 
damages are capped at 
$250,000.  

Joint and several liability 
does not apply to non-
economic damages. Joint 
and several liability applies 
to part of the economic 
damages awarded, based 
on the claimant’s 
percentage of fault and the 
particular defendant’s 
percentage of fault.  

Yes, and the court must 
reduce damages by the 
amounts paid to the claimant 
from collateral sources.  If a 
right of subrogation exists, 
there is no reduction in 
damages. Benefits received 
by the government sources 
are not considered collateral 
benefits.  

Yes.  Levels vary based 
on how far the 
proceedings go before 
payment is received 
(settled, litigated, etc.)  

Yes, for future economic 
awards exceeding $250,000, the 
court must order periodic 
payments at the request of any 
party unless the court 
determines that manifest 
injustice would result to any 
party.  

Georgia $250,000 cap on punitive 
damages 

Defendants can be held jointly 
and severally liable for  non-
economic and economic 
damages if the claimant is 
without fault.  
If the plaintiff is to some 
degree responsible for the 
injury or damages claimed, 
the trier of fact may apportion 
damages among the persons 
who are liable and whose 
degree of fault is greater than 
the claimants, based on the 
degree of fault of each person. 
In this case, the parties shall 
not be held jointly liable.  

No   No No
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Hawaii $375,000 cap on noneconomic 

damages, with exceptions for 
certain types of damages, ie. 
mental anguish 

Yes.  Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence, with the 
following exceptions: 
recovery of economic 
damages in actions 
involving injury or death, 
and noneconomic damages 
in such actions, where a 
tortfeasor’s negligence is 
25% or more; intentional 
torts; strict liability torts; 
and product liability torts. 

No In all tort actions, fees 
shall be limited to a 
reasonable amount as 
approved by the court.  

No 

Idaho $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages per claimant in all 
personal injury and wrongful 
death actions.  Cap will be 
adjusted annually beginning 
on July 1, 2004 based on the 
average state wage increase. 
Cap does not apply to willful 
or reckless conduct or 
felonious acts.  

Yes.  Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence, except where 
co-defendants were acting 
in concert or a person is an 
agent or servant of a party.  

Yes, collateral sources may 
be submitted to the judge 
following the verdict.  
Judgments may be entered 
only for amounts that exceed 
recovery from collateral 
sources. 

No Yes, upon the request of either 
party, at the discretion of the 
court, and only in PI cases, 
where damages exceed 
$100,000.  May not be ordered 
for intentional torts, gross 
negligence or an extreme 
deviation from reasonable 
standard of conduct. 

Illinois None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes, applicable only to 
medical malpractice claims.  
A judgment will be offset by 
50% of lost wages and 100% 
of medical benefits received, 
minus any amount paid by 
the claimant to secure such 
benefits.  The total judgment 
may not be reduced more 
than 50%. Does not apply to 
benefits that are subject to 
subrogation.  

Yes. Fees are limited to 
33 1/3% of the first 
$150,000; 25% of the 
next $850,000; and 
20% of amounts over 
$1 million.  Attorney 
may petition court for 
additional fees. 

Party must elect periodic 
payment of damages at least 60 
days prior to commencement of 
trial unless leave of court is 
obtained. Election is accepted if 
both parties agree or the other 
party does not make an 
objection to the election of 
periodic payments, or future 
damages will exceed $250,000.  

American Medical Association 
Advocacy Resource Center 

March 17, 2003 

4



State Laws Chart I: Liability Reforms 
 
 

 
State Damage Caps Joint Liability Reform Collateral Source Reform Attorney Fees Limited Periodic Payments Permitted 

Indiana $750,000 cap on total damages 
for any act of malpractice that 
occurs after 12/31/89 and 
before 7/1/99.  $1.25 million 
total cap for any act of 
malpractice that occurs after 
6/30/99.  Health care providers 
are not liable for more than 
$250,000 for an occurrence of 
malpractice.  Any amount 
awarded in excess of $250,000 
will be paid through the 
Patient Compensation Fund. 

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes, trier of fact shall 
consider collateral sources of 
payment when determining 
award and court shall 
consider when reviewing 
awards that are allegedly 
excessive.  Evidence of life 
insurance or other death 
benefits; benefits paid by 
claimant or family; or 
payments made by state or 
U.S. prior to trial shall not be 
considered collateral sources 
of payment. 

Yes.  Attorney may  
collect only 15% of 
damages awarded under 
Patient Compensation 
Fund. 

Yes.  Law permits, but does not 
require. 

Iowa    None Yes. Defendants are
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence where a 
defendant is found to bear 
less than 50% of the total 
fault.  If a defendant is 
50% or more liable, he is 
jointly and severally liable 
for economic damages 
only. 

Yes, and damages must be 
reduced by the amount 
received from collateral 
sources. 

No, but courts 
determine 
reasonableness of fee 
arrangements. 

Yes. Any party may request 
periodic/structured payment. 
Court determines the 
reasonableness. 

Kansas $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. 

No.    No Not mandated

Kentucky None Jury may either apportion 
damages among defendants 
or hold defendants jointly 
and severally liable.  

No    No Not mandated

Louisiana $500,000 cap on total 
damages, excluding damages 
recoverable for future medical 
care 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. 

No No Yes, for amounts paid by the 
state from the Patient 
Compensation Fund. 
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Maine $400,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages in wrongful death 
actions 

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes.  Evidence is admissible 
after a verdict has been 
rendered, and the judgment 
must be reduced by the 
amount received from 
collateral sources. 

Yes. Fees are limited to 
33 1/3% of the first 
$100,000; 25% of the 
next $100,000; and 
20% of amounts over 
$200,000. 

Yes. If damages exceed 
$250,000, either party may 
request periodic payment. 

Maryland $500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages on action for 
personal injury or wrongful 
death, increased by $15,000 
annually beginning 10/1/95.  
In wrongful death actions with 
two or more claimants or 
beneficiaries, an award of 
noneconomic damages may be 
up to 150% of the limit. 

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

No No Yes. Courts and arbitrators may 
order periodic payment. 

Massachusetts $500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages, with exceptions for 
proof of substantial 
disfigurement or permanent 
loss or impairment, or other 
special circumstances which 
warrant a finding that 
imposition of such limitation 
would deprive the plaintiff of 
just compensation for the 
injuries sustained.  

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes, benefits from collateral 
sources must be disclosed 
and used to reduce 
recoverable economic 
damages, minus any amount 
paid by the claimant to secure 
the benefit. 

Yes. Fees are limited to 
40% of the first 
$150,000; 33 1/3% of 
the next $150,000 and 
30% of the next 
$200,000; and 25% of 
amounts exceeding 
$500,000.  An attorney 
may not take an amount 
that would leave the 
claimant with less than 
the amount of unpaid 
past and future medical 
expenses, with 
exceptions. 

No 
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Michigan $280,000 cap on noneconomic 

damages, adjusted annually 
for inflation, except in cases 
where the plaintiff is 
hemiplegic, paraplegic, or 
quadriplegic due to an injury 
to the brain or spinal cord, or  
where the plaintiff has 
permanently impaired 
cognitive capacity, or the 
plaintiff has had a permanent 
loss of or damage to a 
reproductive organ, then 
noneconomic damages shall 
not exceed $500,000.  

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes, benefits from collateral 
sources must be disclosed 
and used to reduce 
recoverable economic 
damages, minus any amount 
paid by the claimant to secure 
the benefit. 

Rules limit contingency 
fees to one third of total 
compensation. 

No   

Minnesota None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable, 
except a defendant whose 
fault is 15% or less is 
jointly liable for no more 
than 4 times his percentage 
of fault. 

Yes, within 10 days of the 
verdict and upon motion of a 
party. In such cases, the court 
must reduce the award  by 
the amount received from 
collateral sources. Such 
reduction shall be offset by 
any amount paid by the 
plaintiff to secure the award. 

No Yes. Court must hold hearing in 
cases where future damages 
exceed $100,000 to allow the 
claimant to consider if damages 
should be paid periodically. 

Mississippi $500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages except in cases 
where the patient suffers 
disfigurement or if the judge 
determines punitive damages 
are warranted.  Cap will be 
adjusted to $750,000 for 
causes of action filed after 
7/1/2011 and to $1 million for 
causes of action filed after 
7/1/2017. 

Partially. For noneconomic 
damages, defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. For economic 
damages, a joint tortfeasor 
who is less than 30% at 
fault is liable only for his 
proportionate share of 
damages, a joint tortfeasor 
who is more than 30% at 
fault can be held liable for 
up to 50% of the economic 
damages.  

No No Yes, but they are not mandated. 
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Missouri $350,000 cap on noneconomic 
damges, adjusted annually for 
inflation 

No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable, 
but a defendant is jointly 
liable only with defendants 
whose percentage of fault 
is equal to or less than his 
own. 

No No Yes. In cases where payment 
for future damages exceeds 
$100,000, court may order 
periodic payment upon request 
of either party.  Court has 
upheld the constitutionality of 
this law. 

Montana $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages 

Any party whose 
negligence is 50% or less 
of the combined 
negligence of all persons is 
severally liable only.  The 
remaining parties are 
jointly and severally liable 
for the total less the 
amount attributable to the 
claimant.  A party may be 
jointly liable for all 
damages caused by the 
negligence of another if 
both acted in concert or if 
one party acted as an agent 
of the other. 

Yes, in cases where damages 
exceed $50,000.   Total 
damages must be reduced by 
amount of prior payment 
from collateral sources that 
do not involve rights of 
subrogation. 

No Yes. Upon any party’s request, 
the court must enter an order 
for periodic payment of future 
damages exceeding $50,000.   

Nebraska $1.25 million in total 
damages. Health care 
providers who qualify under 
the Hospital-Medical Liability 
Act (i.e. carry minimum levels 
of liability insurance and pay 
surcharge into excess coverage 
fund) shall not be liable for 
more than $200,000 in total 
damages.  Any excess 
damages shall be paid from 
the excess coverage fund.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence,  except where 
parties have acted in 
concert and caused harm as 
part of a common 
enterprise or plan. 

Yes.  The court shall 
determine in a separate 
hearing the amount of any 
credit against a claimant’s 
damages based on any non-
refundable insurance benefits 
reimbursed to the claimant.  
This information, however, is 
not admissible as evidence.  

No, but upon motion of 
either party, the court 
must review and 
determine reason-
ableness of fees. 

No 
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Nevada $350,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages awarded to each 
plaintiff from each defendant 
except when: 
(1) the defendant’s conduct 
constitutes gross malpractice, 
or  
(2) the court determines by 
clear and convincing evidence 
that a higher award is justified 
because of exceptional 
circumstances. 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence.  Joint and 
several still applies to 
economic damages.  

Yes.  The judge must reduce 
the verdict by the amount of 
any collateral benefits, except 
where a right of subrogation 
exists. 

No Yes, if requested by the 
claimant. 

New 
Hampshire 

None Yes No.  Supreme Court has held 
abolition of the rule 
unconstitutional. 

The court must approve 
fees for actions 
resulting in 
settlement/judgment of 
$200,000 or more.  
Specific limits for med 
mal cases have been 
ruled unconstitutional. 

Yes.  The court has authority to 
order periodic payment.  
Specific requirements for med 
mal cases have been ruled 
unconstitutional. 

New Jersey Punitive damages limited to 
the greater of $350,000 or five 
times compensatory damages.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence if they are 
found to be less than 60% 
at fault.   Defendants found 
to be 60% at fault are 
subject to a modified rule. 

Yes.  Collateral source 
payments must be disclosed 
and deducted from claimant’s 
damages 

Yes.   Fees may not 
exceed the following:   
33 1/3% of the first 
$500,000; 30% of the 
next $500,000; 25% of 
the next $500,000; 20% 
of the next $500,000; 
and an amount the court 
deems reasonable for 
fees over $2 million. 

No 
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New Mexico $600,000 cap on total 

damages, excluding punitive 
damages and past and future 
medical care.  Health care 
providers personal liability 
shall not exceed $200,000, 
including payments for future 
medical expenses.  Any award 
in excess of this amount shall 
be paid by the patient 
compensation fund.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence except in cases 
where defendant intended 
to inflict injury, strict 
liability, vicarious liability 
or situations “having a 
sound basis in public 
policy.” 

No No Yes.  Future medical expenses 
are paid as they are incurred by 
claimant.   

New York None Yes for non-economic 
damages. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence if they are 
found to be 50% or less 
liable.  Defendants can be 
held jointly and severally 
liable for economic 
damages.  

Yes. Collateral sources of 
payment are admissible as 
evidence and must reduce the 
award by the amount 
recovered.  Such reduction 
shall be offset by premiums 
paid by the claimant for the 
benefit for two years 
preceeding the action and 
projected future costs of 
maintaining benefits.  

Yes.  Fees are capped 
as follows: 30% of the 
first $250,000; 25% of 
the next $250,000; 20% 
of the next $500,000;  
15% of the next 
$250,000; and 10% of 
fees of $1.25 million or 
more. 

Yes. Future damages over 
$250,000 must be paid 
periodically. 

North Carolina None No. Each defendant is 
jointly and severally liable. 

No No  No

North Dakota $500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages. Economic damage 
awards in excess of $250,000 
are subject to judicial review 
for reasonablenes. 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence except where 
defendants act in concert in 
committing, aiding and 
encouraging, or ratifying or 
adopting a tortious act. 

Yes. Defendant may apply to 
the court for a reduction of 
economic damages based on 
collateral sources of 
payment.  

No Yes.  In cases where future 
economic damages will be 
awarded for continuing 
institutional/custodial care 
lasting more than two years, a 
party may request periodic 
payments. Court has discretion 
to grant. 
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Ohio Cap on noneconomic damages 
of the greater of $250,000 or 
three times economic damages 
up to a maximum of $350,000 
per plaintiff or 500,000 if 
there are multiple plaintiffs.  
For catastrophic injuries the 
maximum may increase to 
$500,000 per plaintiff or $1 
million for multiple plaintiffs.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence for 
noneconomic damages.  
For economic damages, 
defendants who are 50% or 
less at fault are responsible 
for their proportionate 
share of negligence, but 
defendants who are held 
more than 50% at fault are 
jointly and severally liable.  

Yes. Defendants may 
introduce evidence of 
collateral sources of 
payments made to plaintiffs.  
The plaintiff may submit 
evidence of any amount the 
plaintiff has paid or 
contributed to secure the 
benefits.  

No, but their fees are 
subject to approval by 
the probate court if their 
fees exceed the non-
economic damages 
awarded.  

Yes. Court may award periodic 
payment of damages for awards 
that exceed $50,000 if the 
plaintiff or defendant files a 
motion with the court.  

Oklahoma Punitive damages for cases 
where the defendant acted 
with reckless disregard are 
limited to the greater of 
$100,000 or the amount of 
actual damages awarded.  No 
limit on punitive damages for 
cases where the defendant 
acted intentionally and with 
malice. 

No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable.  
However, case law has 
held that several liability 
exists where a claimant is 
held partially responsible 
for a tortious act. 

No Yes. In contingency fee 
arrangements, attorney 
may not contract to 
receive more than 50% 
of the recovery. 

No 

Oregon None – Constitution prohibits 
caps on noneconomic damages 

Yes.  Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence, but if within 
one year after the final 
judgment the court 
determines that all or part of 
a defendant’s proportionate 
share is uncollectible, it 
shall reallocate the 
uncollectible noneconomic 
damages among other 
defendants according to 
their percentages of 
negligence. 

Yes, but no deduction can be 
made for life insurance, 
benefits for which the 
claimant has paid, 
retirement/disability, social 
security, or insurance 
benefits for which the person 
injured or deceased paid 
premiums.  

Partially.  Attorney fees 
recovered from an 
award for punitive 
damages are limited to 
20% of the 40% paid to 
the prevailing party.  
No limit on attorney 
fees for economic or 
noneconomic damages.  

No 
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Pennsylvania Constitution prohibits caps on 
non-economic damages. 
Punitive damages are capped 
at 2 times actual damages. 

Yes. Liability for each 
defendant shall be he 
several only and not joint. 
Unless, the defendant’s 
percentage of liability is 
60% or greater then the 
defendant can be held 
jointly and severally liable. 

Yes.  Awards are reduced by 
the amount paid to the 
claimant from other sources. 

No. Yes for future economic 
damages that exceed $100,000, 
unless the claimant objects. 

Rhode Island None No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable. 

Yes.  Collateral payment 
sources may be introduced 
and claimant may introduce 
evidence of any payments 
made to secure such benefit.  
Award must be reduced by 
the difference between the 
collateral payments received 
and payments made by the 
plaintiff to secure such 
benefits.  

No Not mandated, but parties must 
consider if damages exceed 
$150,000. 

South Carolina None No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable. 

No   No No

South Dakota $500,000 cap on total general 
damages 

No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable, but 
parties who are allocated 
less than 50% of the total 
fault may only be jointly 
liable for more than 2xs the 
percentage of fault 
allocated to that party. 

Yes, but no evidence of 
payments subject to 
subrogation and not 
purchased by the claimant or 
paid by the government. 

No Yes.  If a party makes an 
effective election and both 
parties agree or a timely 
objection is not filed, or if a 
timely objection is filed but the 
claimant can prove future 
damages are in excess of 
$200,000.  

Tennessee None Yes. Courts have held joint 
and several liability 
obsolete. 

Yes. Damages awarded will 
be reduced by collateral 
sources of payment.  Such 
reduction shall be offset by 
the amount paid by the 
claimant to secure the 
benefit. 

Yes. Attorney 
compensation shall be 
awarded by the court, 
but may not exceed 33 
1/3% of total damages. 

No 
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Texas $500,000 cap on all damages 
for wrongful death, indexed 
for inflation since 1977. In 
2002 the cap reached 
approximately $1.4 million.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence, unless the 
percentage of 
responsibility attributed to 
the defendant is greater 
than 50%. 

No No No 

Utah $250,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages, indexed for 
inflation.  For causes of action 
arising on or after 7/1/2001 
but before 7/1/02 limit 
increased to $400,000.  Limit 
adjusted annually for inflation 
thereafter.  

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. 

Yes. Court must reduce 
damages by any collateral 
sources of payment received 
by the claimant, except for 
benefits from payors with 
subrogation rights.  
Reduction shall be offset by 
amount paid by claimant to 
secure such benefits.  

Yes.  Total 
compensation may not 
exceed 1/3 of total 
damages. 

Yes.  Any party may request 
periodic payments, and the 
court must order such payments 
if future damages exceed 
$100,000. 

Vermont None No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable. 

No No  No

Virginia $1.5 million cap on total 
damages for acts occurring on 
or after Aug. 1, 1999.  This 
cap is increased by $50,000 
annually until 2007.  In 2007 
and 2008, the cap is increased 
by $75,000. 

No. Each party is jointly 
and severally liable. 

No No Yes, but no requirement exists 
for such payments in PI cases. 

Washington None If the claimant is at fault, 
defendants are responsible 
only for their proportionate 
share of negligence,  
except where parties act in 
concert or where a person 
was acting as an agent or 
servant of the party. If the 
claimant is not at fault, 
defendants are jointly and 
severally liable.  

Yes.  Evidence may be 
presented, except that 
evidence of payments from 
insurance policies purchased 
with personal or family assets 
or by an employer on behalf 
of an employee may not be 
introduced. 

Court shall determine 
the reasonableness of 
each party’s attorneys’ 
fees.  

Yes.  Any party may request 
periodic payments, and the 
court must order such payments 
if future economic damages 
exceed $100,000. 
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State Damage Caps Joint Liability Reform Collateral Source Reform Attorney Fees Limited Periodic Payments Permitted 
West Virginia $250,000 cap on noneconomic 

damages per occurrence.   
$500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages for cases involving 
(1) wrongful death,  
(2) permanent and substantial 
physical deformity, loss of use 
of limb or loss of a bodily 
organ system, or  
(3) permanent physical or 
mental functional injury that 
permanently prevents the 
injured person from being able 
to independently care for 
himself or herself and perform 
life sustaining activities.  
Adjusted annually for 
inflation, but the $250,000 cap 
shall not exceed $375,000 and 
the $500,000 cap shall not 
exceed $750,000.   

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. 

Yes.  The defendant may 
introduce evidence of 
collateral sources of payment 
into evidence and the 
plaintiff may introduce 
evidence of payments made 
to secure such benefits.  The 
court must reduce the award 
by the amount the plaintiff 
recovered from collateral 
sources offset by any 
payments or contributions 
made to secure such benefits.  
 

No No 

Wisconsin $350,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages for medical 
malpractice claims, adjusted 
annually for inflation.  For 
wrongful death actions, 
$350,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages for adults, and  
$500,000 cap on noneconomic 
damages for minors. 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence if they are less 
than 51% at fault unless a 
defendant acted as part of a 
common scheme or plan. 

Yes.  The defendant may 
introduce evidence of 
payments received from 
collateral sources.   

Yes, as follows: 33 
1/3% of the first $1 
million, or 25% if 
certain procedural 
timeframes are met; 
20% of amounts 
exceeding $1 million.  
Court has discretion to 
increase fees. 

Yes, if future medical expenses 
are expected to exceed 
$100,000. 
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State Damage Caps Joint Liability Reform Collateral Source Reform Attorney Fees Limited Periodic Payments Permitted 

Wyoming None - Constitution prohibits 
caps 

Yes. Defendants are 
responsible only for their 
proportionate share of 
negligence. 

No Yes, when recovery is 
$1 million or less as 
follows: 33 1/3% if 
claim is settled prior to 
or within 60 after filing; 
40% if claim is settled 
more than 60 days after 
filing or upon 
judgment.  If recovery 
is more than $1 million, 
30% of recovery in 
excess of $1 million is 
considered reasonable. 

Not mandated 
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