
Summary of West Virginia’s Medical Liability Reform Law 
HB 2122 

  
House Bill 2122, a comprehensive medical liability reform law, was signed into law by 
Governor Bob Wise on March 11, 2003.  As a key member of the West Virginia CARE 
Coalition, the West Virginia State Medical Association worked tirelessly toward 
enactment of this legislation.  In addition to several key medical liability reforms, such as 
a cap on non-economic damages, H.B. 2122 also places a cap on total damages for 
care provided in a trauma center and creates a physicians mutual insurance company. 
 
Cap on Non-Economic Damages 
� $250,000 cap on non-economic damages per occurrence, regardless of the 

number of plaintiffs and number of defendants.   
� Exceptions:  the cap increases to $500,000 per occurrence, regardless of the 

number of plaintiffs and number of defendants for wrongful death; permanent and 
substantial physical deformity, loss of use of a limb or loss of a bodily organ system; 
or permanent physical or mental functional injury that permanently prevents the 
injured person from being able to independently care for himself or herself and 
perform life sustaining activities.   

� The limits only apply to defendants who have at least $1,000,000 per occurrence in 
medical liability insurance.  

� The limits will be adjusted annually for inflation up to $375,000 per occurrence or 
$750,000 for injuries that fall within the exception. 

 
Joint and Several Liability  
� Abolishes joint and several liability, therefore, defendants can be held liable only for 

the percentage of fault attributed to the defendant by the trier of fact.  
� New rule goes into effect once the patient compensation fund is established (2004).  
 
Collateral Source Reform 
� A defendant may introduce into evidence payments received by the plaintiff from 

collateral sources.   
� The plaintiff may also present evidence of the value of payments or contributions he 

or she made to secure such benefits.   
� The court must reduce the award plaintiff by the amount the plaintiff recovered from 

collateral sources offset by any payments or contributions made to secure such 
benefits.   

� The court shall not reduce the award for the following 
� amounts paid to or on behalf of the plaintiff in which the collateral source has the 

right to recover from the plaintiff through subrogation, lien, or reimbursement,  
� amounts in excess of benefits actually paid or to be paid on behalf of the plaintiff 

by a collateral source in a category of economic loss,  
� proceeds of any individual disability or income replacement insurance paid for 

entirely by the plaintiff,  
� the assets of the plaintiff or the plaintiff’s family, or 
� a settlement between the plaintiff and another tortfeasor 

 
Cap on Care Provided in Trauma Center 
� $500,000 cap on civil damages for any injury to or death of a patient as a result 

of health care services rendered in good faith and necessitated by an 
emergency condition for which the patient enters a health care facility 
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designated as a trauma center.  The limit also applies to health care services 
rendered by a licensed EMS agency or employee of a licensed EMS agency.   

� Cap also applies to any act or omission of a health care provider in rendering 
continued care or assistance in the event that surgery is required as a result of the 
patient’s emergency condition.   

� This limit does not apply if the care is rendered in willful and wanton or reckless 
disregard of a risk of harm to the patient or in clear violation of established written 
protocols for triage and emergency health care procedures developed by the office of 
emergency medical services.  Likewise, the limit does not apply to any act or 
omission in rendering care that occurs after the patient has been stabilized and is 
considered a non-emergency patient, or care that is unrelated to the original 
emergency condition.   

� If the physician who provided care to the patient when the patient was presented with 
an emergency condition provides follow-up care to the same patient and a medical 
condition arises during the course of this follow-up care that is directly related to the 
original emergency condition, there is a rebuttable presumption that the medical 
condition was the result of the original emergency condition, and, therefore, the cap 
applies.  There is also a rebuttable presumption that a medical condition that arises 
in the course of follow-up care provided by a health care provider in the trauma 
center is directly related to the original emergency condition, where the follow-up 
care is provided within a reasonable time after the patient’s admission to the trauma 
center.  

 
Expert Witness 
� The court may require an expert witness to establish a defendant’s failure to meet 

the applicable standard of care.   
� The expert must have professional expertise and knowledge of the applicable 

standard of care to which he or she is testifying and must testify with a reasonable 
degree of medical probability.  

� The expert must be licensed to practice medicine in any state (the physician’s 
license must not have been suspended or revoked in any state in the past year) and 
must be qualified in a medical field in which the defendant has experience and/or 
training in diagnosing or treating injuries or conditions similar to those of the patient.   
If the witness also devoted, at the time of the medical injury, sixty percent of his or 
her professional time annually to the active clinical practice or teaching in his or hear 
medical field or specialty, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that the witness is 
a qualified expert.  

 
Certificate of Merit 
� At least 30-days prior to the filing of a professional liability action, a claimant must 

provide notice to the defendant which shall include a statement of the theory or 
theories of liability and a list of all health care providers and health care facilities to 
whom notices are being sent, as well as a certificate of merit.   

� The certificate of merit must be provided under oath by a health care provider 
qualified as an expert and shall state with particularity: (1) the expert’s familiarity with 
the applicable standard of care at issue, (2) the expert’s qualifications, (3) the 
expert’s opinion as to how the applicable standard of care was breached, and (4) the 
expert’s opinion as to how the breach of the applicable standard of care resulted in 
injury or death.  

� A certificate of merit is not required if a claimant or the claimant’s attorney believes 
one is not necessary because the cause of action is based on a well-established 
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legal theory of liability which does not require an expert’s testimony to support a 
breach of the applicable standard of care.  

 
Mediation 
� Upon receipt of a notice of intent to file a claim, a defendant may demand pre-

litigation mediation.  The mediator’s decision is confidential and inadmissible in court.  
 
Physicians’ Mutual Insurance Company (PMIC) 
� Creates a physicians’ mutual insurance company to provide medical liability 

insurance to physicians in West Virginia.   
� The Board of Risk Insurance Management (BRIM) which was a state run fund, shall 

transfer to the PMIC any and all medical liability insurance obligations and risks of 
existing insurance covering physicians, physician corporations, and physician-
operated clinics issued by the board.  The BRIM shall not transfer any of its medical 
liability insurance obligations or risks of existing insurance covering hospitals and 
non-physician providers.   

� Initial capitalization and surplus of the PMIC shall be funded through a loan from the 
tobacco settlement medical trust fund.  The PMIC should receive further funding 
through a $1,000 one-time assessment imposed on every physician licensed in the 
state.  The following physicians will be exempt from the assessment: physicians who 
serve as full-time faculty at a medical school, physicians who are on active duty in 
the armed forces, physicians who receive more than 50% of their practice income 
from services provided in federally qualified health centers, or physicians who 
practice solely under a special volunteer medical license.  

 
Patient Compensation Fund 
� Creates a board to study the creation and funding of a patient injury compensation 

fund.  The purpose of the fund shall be to reimburse claimants who have been 
unable to collect all or part of the economic damages awarded to them in a medical 
malpractice action either due to limitations on awards for trauma care and/or the 
elimination of joint and several liability.   

 
Assessment on all insurers 
� The Insurance Commissioner shall impose a $2,500 assessment on all insurance 

carriers licensed (under this chapter – check) for the privilege of writing insurance in 
the state.  All funds collected shall be transferred to the physicians’ mutual insurance 
company.  

 
Loss of Chance 
� Codifies a loss of chance theory of recovery that had been previously established in 

case law.  Under the new law, plaintiffs may recover under a loss of chance theory 
by proving the following: 
(1) the health care provider’s breach in the standard of care deprived the patient of a 

chance of recovery or increased the risk of harm to a patient; 
(2) such failure was a substantial factor in bringing about the ultimate injury to the 

patient; and 
(3) there is a reasonable degree of probability that following the accepted standard 

of care would have resulted in a greater than 25% chance that the patient would 
have had an improved recovery or would have survived.  
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� The loss of chance theory is a different cause of action than traditional negligence, 
which requires the plaintiff to prove that the defendant’s negligence was the 
proximate cause of his or her injury.  

 
Tax Credit 
� Physicians who purchase medical liability insurance are entitled to a credit against 

their provider tax equal to 10% of premiums in excess of $30,000 or 20% of 
premiums in excess of $70,000.  

 
Board of Medicine and Board of Osteopathic Medicine 
� Requires the board to investigate any physician who has had three or more 

judgements or five or more judgements and settlements against them in a five-year 
period.  

� The board may not consider any judgments or settlements as conclusive evidence of 
professional incompetence or conclusive lack of qualification to practice.  
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